

Ontario Traffic Council

3100 Garden St, P.O. Box 800300 RPO Rossland Garden, Whitby ON L1R 0H1

Phone: 647-346-4050 E-mail: <u>info@otc.org</u>

2019-2020

President

Nelson Cadete City of Brampton

Board of Directors

Vice President

Heide Schlegl Town of Milton

Treasurer & Director of Enforcement

Peter Sejrup Peterborough Police Service

Director of Training
John Crass

Director of Convention

Robyn Zutis Town of Oakville

Director of Engineering Secretary

Adam Bell TMIG

Director of Transportation Planning & Sustainability

Manoj Dilwaria City of Thorold

Past President

Jeffrey Smart Tacel Ltd.

Executive Director Geoff Wilkinson September 30, 2019

Ministry of Transportation Road Safety Policy Office Safety Policy and Education Branch 87 Sir William Hearst Avenue Building "A", Room 212 Toronto ON M3M 0B4

Re: Regulation Proposal: 19-MTO027

The Ontario Traffic Council (OTC) would like to thank the Ontario Government for allowing us the opportunity to provide our feedback and support of the Regulation Proposals for Enhancing Municipal Road Safety through Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE), Proposal Number 19-MTO027.

In anticipation of the proclamation of the Safer School Zones Act 2017, the Ontario Traffic Council (OTC) formed an Automated Speed Enforcement Working Group. This Group consists of 28 municipalities interested in working alongside the MTO on developing a consistent and sustainable ASE program. Our collective goal is to increase safety in school community safety zones, through improved speed compliance.

Participating municipalities include Niagara Region, Peel Region, York Region, Waterloo Region, Durham Region, Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, London, Ottawa, Kingston, Ajax, Caledon, Hamilton, Greater Sudbury, Vaughan, Oakville, Oxford County, Burlington, Markham, Oshawa, Milton, Guelph, Cambridge, Whitby, Peterborough, Niagara Falls, Greater Sudbury. In addition to municipalities, MTO and MAG staff have also participated in the ASE Working Group meetings.

The OTC and our ASE Working Group are fully supportive of the ASE Regulations as outlined in the Regulatory Postings as posted on the Province's website. The OTC, participating municipalities and the MTO have worked very diligently over the past two years to address and overcome issues and challenges that may have inhibited the implementation of the ASE Program in Ontario.

While there may be opportunities to enhance the ASE Program after the Regulations are in place, the OTC is confident the ASE Program as developed today will act as a useful and effective tool for municipalities to use across Ontario to help protect our vulnerable road users in school zones. We have been and remain committed to the mutual MTO and Municipalities goal of implementing ASE beginning December 1, 2019.

Yours truly,

Geøff Wilkinson.

c.c. OTC ASE Working Group